We’ve made significant changes in how our Password Protect WordPress (PPWP) plugins – both Free and Pro, work since its version 1.2.0 & 1.1.0 respectively.
Since version 1.2.0, you’ll need to install our Free version as well in order for our Pro plugin to work properly.
There are a couple of key reasons why we’ve made the changes:
- It’s difficult to maintain 2 plugins separately at the same time
Now, our Pro will be like an extension (add-on) to our Free version. They will simply extend the core features provided by our Free version. It’s easier for us to develop new premium features and extensions in the future as well.
- It’s easier to upgrade and migrate data
Before this change, users will have to deactivate our Free before installing our Pro version in order for us to migrate the data over. They cannot activate both plugins at the same time, which causes some coding conflicts. If they accidentally remove our Free version, all their passwords and protected pages data is lost.
- Most users tend to install our Free version first before getting our Pro anyway.
So it makes sense to keep both plugins.
FAQ: Running both PPWP Free & Pro version
1. When I purchase Password Protect WordPress Pro, should I delete the Free plugin after I install the Pro plugin?
You should not delete the Free plugin. Password Protect WordPress Pro is now an “add-on” to the Free version. The Pro plugin won’t work without the Free version.
2. What if I already delete the Free version, what should I do next?
If you’ve already deleted our Free version, you will need to re-install the plugin again. There will be a notification prompting you to install our Free version once you’ve activated our Pro version.
3. Why nothing changes after activating the Pro version?
It looks like you haven’t activated your Pro license yet.
It’s worth noticing that even if the license is not activated, our Free version is still working just that our Pro features are not enabled.
4. If I delete the Pro version, will password-protected pages by the Pro version become unprotected?
When you deactivate or delete Password Protect WordPress Pro, pages and passwords protected and created by the Free version (before you upgrade to our Pro version) will still work. However, those protected by our Pro version will become unprotected.
Please note that, if you enable our “Remove Data Upon Uninstall” option, all your passwords and protection info will be removed once our Free (or Pro) plugin is deleted. By default, the option is turned off. So even if you remove our plugins, your data is not lost.
Before our Free version 22.214.171.124, if you delete our plugin, your data is automatically removed. If you only deactivate the plugin, you’ll be able to migrate your existing passwords to our Pro version.