Settings

Under your WordPress admin dashboard, click on “Password Protect WordPress” in the left sidebar to configure its settings.

Content

PASSWORD PROTECTION

(1) Post Type Protection

Enable you to password protect not only WordPress pages and posts but also other custom post types, such as “Products” created by WooCommerce plugin. Default: Pages & Posts.

(2) Cookies Expiration Time

Allow you to decide how long your visitors can access the content without re-entering the password. Default: 7 days

(3) Whitelisted Roles

Allow specific user roles to access your private content without entering passwords. User role options include:

  • Admin users (default)
  • The post’s author
  • Logged-in users
  • Custom roles: select multiple user roles at once
  • No one: everyone including admins has to enter a password to access your protected content

(4) Password Protect Child Pages

Enable this option to protect all your child pages when their parent is protected. This allows you to set the same password to protect multiple pages at the same time. Default: OFF

(5) Password Protect Private Pages

Allow you to use one password to protect multiple pages and posts at the same time instead of password protecting them individually.

PASSWORD FORM

The maximum length of the text message is 200 characters.

(1) Form Message

Allow you to customize the message above the password field that best describes your private content and website theme.

Here’s the default form for password protected content:

default-password-protected-form

(2) Error Message

Allow you to customize the error message when users enter wrong passwords.

ADVANCED OPTIONS

(1) Block Search Indexing

Prevent your protected content from being indexed by Google and other search engines. Default: ON

This feature helps stop Google and other search engines from indexing your password protected content. In other words, once a page or post is password protected, our plugin will add a noindex meta tag to its header so that your protected content won’t be crawled and listed on search results anymore. This option is enabled by default.

In case you password protect your entire site, all your content will NOT be indexed whether they’re protected or not. Unprotected pages excluded from the entire site protection will still be indexed though.

(2) Remove Data Upon Uninstall

Enable this option to remove all password and license information on your website once you uninstall the plugin. Default: OFF

Our Free and Pro version stores password information on different places on your database. If you want to completely remove our plugin’s data, you should enable the option, then remove the Pro first before the Free version.

SITE-WIDE PROTECTION

Lasted updated on October 23, 2019